According to the Nevada DMV, you must possess and carry a valid driver’s license if you wish to operate a motor vehicle on the roadways in Las Vegas and across the state. If you are caught driving without a license, you could be convicted of a misdemeanor. In the state of Nevada, a misdemeanor charge carries with it the possibility of a fine of up to $1,000 and jail time of up to six months. If you have a revoked license, let your renewal lapse, or simply left your license at home, you can be charged if you do not have a valid license with you and you are driving a motor vehicle.
Do you need a driver’s license to drive in Las Vegas, Nevada?
The Nevada DMV maintains that all drivers must carry with them a valid license any time they operate a motor vehicle. Drivers from other states or countries must carry a driver’s license from the state or country in which they reside.
Those who have an appropriate driver’s license and are caught driving without a license may be able to have the charges dismissed, but they may still be subject to fines. Those driving taxicabs or ride-sharing vehicles are not required to obtain a special type of permit from the Nevada DMV but must have documentation from the Transportation Authority or have a business license.
What penalties are there for driving without a license in Las Vegas?
Because driving without a license is considered as a misdemeanor charge, it is a criminal offense. You could face fines of up to $1,000. You might even have to spend up to size months in jail, though judges rarely give jail time for this offense. However, there could be additional penalties that might result in a suspended license or even a revoked license.
Can I fight the charges of driving without a license?
In Las Vegas and other areas within the state of Nevada, you might be able to have your charges dropped if you simply forgot to carry your driver’s license with you. In this case, you will have to show the court that you do, in fact, have a valid license and that you were licensed at the time of your offense.
In cases where you do not have a license, the court may allow you to obtain your driver’s license within a certain time period. Your case might even be dismissed if you follow the court’s directives in a timely manner. If you do not have a valid license because it has expired, this is typically not a legitimate defense. In this case, you could still face penalties that include fines and jail time.
Can I get a driver’s license?
According to the DMV, most individuals will be eligible for a certain class of licensing based on age once passing the driver’s test. Those who are 15 1/2 can get their learner’s permit, those who are 16 and 17 years old may receive a restricted license, while those who are 18 years of age and older may obtain a regular license.
What about those who live outside of the state?
Your license from your state of residence is considered valid while driving through Las Vegas and other regions of Nevada as long as it is current and in good standing.
If you are caught driving without your license, you may be able to hire an attorney to attend any court hearings on your behalf so that you do not have to return to this state to handle the matter. However, ignoring the citation can result in the issuance of a bench warrant for your arrest.
Can undocumented immigrants obtain a valid license?
In the past, illegal aliens were not able to obtain any type of licensing to drive in the state of Nevada. However, there are no special circumstances which allow undocumented immigrants to obtain a Driver Authorization Card as long as they can show legitimate proof of identity and proof of residence within the state.
Will I be deported for driving without a license?
While driving with no license is not considered to be a serious enough offense to cause deportation in and of itself, it is still a risky situation. Undocumented immigrants can face deportation at any time. Hiring an attorney for any violation, no matter how minor, could be important for those who wish to remain in this country.
What if I’m driving on a suspended or revoked license?
It is not the same offense to be found driving without a license as it is if you are caught driving with a suspended license or a revoked license. You can still face penalties that include fines of up to $1,000 and incarceration of up to six months. If your suspended license was related to an offense that was not related to DUI, you could also face a doubling of your time your license remains suspended. If your license was revoked, this could result in an additional year of revocation before you can obtain a new license.
If your license was revoked or suspended to a DUI offense, your license will be revoked for a year. You will face mandatory jail time of at least 30 days, though the judge may allow an alternative of home confinement for 60 days.
When can my case be sealed?
Because any charge, even a misdemeanor, can be seen by potential employers, it is typically considered a wise move to have your case sealed as soon as possible. For this offense, you can work to get your record sealed one year after the closing of your case or immediately if the case was dismissed.
Common Moving Violations in Nevada
Learn more about the Nevada Demerit Point System
FREE Consultation for Traffic Tickets
Have you received a traffic citation for driving without a license in Nevada? Our attorneys at Fix Your Tickets can help you get tickets reduced or even thrown out. For a FREE consultation contact Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney Bennair Bateman at 702-605-0505. In many cases, we can get your traffic tickets reduced to a non-moving violation or dismissed with no need for traffic school, and zero demerit points on your driving record.
Need to speak with a Traffic Accident Attorney?
Have you suffered an injury because of a traffic accident in Nevada? If so, you may be owed damages. Contact our Las Vegas attorneys to discuss your ability to win compensation to pay for your lost earnings, loss of future wages, medical bills, and pain and suffering.
Fix Your Tickets
Las Vegas Attorney
Fix Your Tickets Blog
- Improper Turn Traffic Tickets in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Failing to Stop for a School Bus in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Carpool Lane Violations in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Illegal U-turn in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Reckless Driving Laws and Penalties in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Nevada’s “Hit & Run” Laws, Obligations, and Penalties
- Failing to Yield to Pedestrians at a Crosswalk Traffic Ticket in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Failure to Signal Traffic Violation Ticket Las Vegas, Nevada
- Running a Red Light in Las Vegas, Nevada
- DUI Fines and Penalties Las Vegas Nevada (1st, 2nd and 3rd Offenses)
- Driving without auto insurance in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Driving without registration in Las Vegas, Nevada
- How to get rid of a warrant in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Driving without a license in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Speeding Tickets in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Seatbelt Ticket Las Vegas, Nevada
- Nevada Demerit Point System
- Nevada’s Driving With Hand-held Cell Phone Use Laws