The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles has a demerit point system in place to keep roads safer. If the court finds you guilty of a driving offense, you will receive a number of points against your license. For each offense, the designated demerit points will remain on your license for a period of 12 months. However, the driving offense will stay a part of your permanent driving record.
Accumulation of Demerit Points
The demerit points will accumulate and can negatively affect your driver’s license. Once you have received 3 or more demerit points, the Nevada DMV will mail you a written notification. If you have from 3-11 points, you can have 3 points removed by attending and passing a traffic safety course. The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles must first approve of the safety course. However, the court will not remove points from your record, if the course is part of a plea agreement.
12 Points in 12 Months
If you acquire 12 demerit points over a 12-month period, suspension of your license will be automatic for at least 6-months. The DMV will send you a certified letter to provide you with notification that your driver’s license is under suspension. You have the right to a hearing to contest the findings of the DMV.
Point Values Based on Offense
The demerit point system is based on the presumed severity of the offense. No demerit points are issued for serious traffic violations. Serious violations include those that result in severe bodily harm or death and offenses such as DUI. If you are found guilty of any of these types of offenses, this will result in an automatic suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. With a commercial driver’s license, you may be subject to additional penalties and points.
Commonly Issued Demerit Points
8 Points – Reckless Driving
6 Points – Careless Driving
6 Points – Failure to give information or render aid at the scene of an accident
4 Points – Following too closely
4 Points – Failure to yield the right-of-way
4 Points – Passing a school bus when signals are flashing
4 Points – Hand-held cellphone use or texting (For 2nd or subsequent offenses)
4 Points – Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign
2 Points – Impeding traffic, driving too slowly
2 Points – Failure to dim headlights
Demerit Points for Speeding
1 Point – 1 – 10 mph over the posted limit
2 Points – 11 – 20 mph over the posted limit
3 Points – 21 – 30 mph over the posted limit
4 Points – 31 – 40 mph over the posted limit
5 Points – 41 mph or more over the posted limit
2 Points – Prima Facie speed violation or driving too fast for the conditions
Learn More About Moving Violations in Nevada
Learn more about the Nevada Demerit Point System
FREE Consultation for Traffic Tickets
Have you received a traffic citation while driving in Nevada? Our attorneys at Fix Your Tickets can help you get tickets reduced or even thrown out. For a FREE consultation contact Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney Bennair Bateman at 702-605-0505. In many cases, we can get your traffic tickets reduced to a non-moving violation or dismissed with no need for traffic school, and zero demerit points on your driving record.
Need to speak with a Traffic Accident Attorney?
Have you suffered an injury because of a traffic accident in Nevada? If so, you may be owed damages. Contact our Las Vegas attorneys to discuss your ability to win compensation to pay for your lost earnings, loss of future wages, medical bills, and pain and suffering.
Fix Your Tickets
Las Vegas Attorney
Fix Your Tickets Blog
- Improper Turn Traffic Tickets in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Failing to Stop for a School Bus in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Carpool Lane Violations in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Illegal U-turn in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Reckless Driving Laws and Penalties in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Nevada’s “Hit & Run” Laws, Obligations, and Penalties
- Failing to Yield to Pedestrians at a Crosswalk Traffic Ticket in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Failure to Signal Traffic Violation Ticket Las Vegas, Nevada
- Running a Red Light in Las Vegas, Nevada
- DUI Fines and Penalties Las Vegas Nevada (1st, 2nd and 3rd Offenses)
- Driving without auto insurance in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Driving without registration in Las Vegas, Nevada
- How to get rid of a warrant in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Driving without a license in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Speeding Tickets in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Seatbelt Ticket Las Vegas, Nevada
- Nevada Demerit Point System
- Nevada’s Driving With Hand-held Cell Phone Use Laws