If you are caught driving in Las Vegas without insurance, you could face serious penalties. These penalties can include the imposition of fines and a suspension of your vehicle registration. Additionally, driving without insurance is considered to be a misdemeanor in Las Vegas, which is a criminal offense.
Nevada Insurance Requirements
In order to operate a motor vehicle in Las Vegas, you must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. This minimum requirement for a policy is 25/50/20. Of course, you are always free to acquire additional coverage above the minimum standards, but you must have current minimum coverage at all times on any registered vehicle. Your insurance must be underwritten for the state of Nevada. If you are moving to Las Vegas from another state, your out-of-state insurance is not considered to be covered in Nevada.
You might think that you only risk getting caught without insurance if you get pulled over by a police officer. However, this is not the case. The state keeps track of all insurance information for every vehicle registration with a program called Nevada LIVE. With Nevada LIVE, the DMV can determine if you cancel a policy or let your coverage lapse. Information obtained through Nevada LIVE is in real time, so any lapses in the appropriate insurance coverage will be seen on the day that it happens. If your registration is found to have no coverage associated with it due to a lapse or cancellation, you will be sent a letter requesting your current information. If you do not provide this information along with the right forms by the date that is provided in your letter, your registration will be suspended until you provide this information.
When you obtain or change your coverage, it is typically up to your insurance carrier to notify the DMV of any changes. Make sure that your coverage provider is properly licensed in the state to ensure that all Nevada insurance requirements are met. You can make the necessary notification of changes in your coverage policy or your provider to the DMV by calling, mailing in the necessary documentation, or by competing for a form online. You can also check to see if your policy and coverage information is up to date by checking with the DMV online. All you will need is your license plate number and information regarding your vehicle identification number. You can generally get the necessary information from your Certificate of Registration.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Las Vegas
If your coverage ever lapses for any reason, you must cancel your vehicle registration and turn in your license plates. While you can do this at your local DMV office, you may also take the appropriate action to cancel your vehicle registration online then mail your license plates to the address that is provided. It is unlawful to drive on the roads without the minimum amount of coverage.
If you do not cancel your vehicle registration after a lapse in your policy and coverage, you can be fined and lose your driving privileges for a certain period of time. For a first offense, the fines range from $250 to $1,000. The amount of the fine may vary based on how long you have been driving without the appropriate coverage. For a second and subsequent offense, your fine may be $500 to $1,000. Whether your first offense or your fifth offense, your registration will be suspended until you can provide the appropriate proof of coverage. Your vehicle may even be impounded, even for a first-time offense of driving without the minimum coverage for even one day. If you go without insurance for too long, you may also be required to file an SR-22 for a period of three years.
Once you or your agent provides proof of appropriate coverage, you must pay a reinstatement fee to get your license plates back and to remove the suspension from your registration. The reinstatement fee is $250 for the first time that you are caught without coverage. For second and subsequent offenses, this reinstatement fee jumps to $500 just to get your registration current and to get the license plates that are necessary to drive your vehicle legally on the roadways in this state.
Do Not Drive without Insurance in Nevada
It is more cost-effective to keep continual coverage on your motor vehicle than to face the fees and charges associated with driving with no insurance. However, there are situations when your coverage may lapse. If your coverage is no longer in effect and you have received a notification of registration suspension from the DMV, it could be in your best interests to contact a serious traffic attorney. A lawyer can help you to understand the steps that you must take to get your registration reinstated.
Common Moving Violations in Nevada
Learn more about the Nevada Demerit Point System
FREE Consultation for Traffic Tickets
Have you received a traffic citation for driving without insurance in Nevada? Our attorneys at Fix Your Tickets can help you get tickets reduced or even thrown out. For a FREE consultation contact Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney Bennair Bateman at 702-605-0505. In many cases, we can get your traffic tickets reduced to a non-moving violation or dismissed with no need for traffic school, and zero demerit points on your driving record.
Need to speak with a Traffic Accident Attorney?
Have you suffered an injury because of a traffic accident in Nevada? If so, you may be owed damages. Contact our Las Vegas attorneys to discuss your ability to win compensation to pay for your lost earnings, loss of future wages, medical bills, and pain and suffering.
Fix Your Tickets
Las Vegas Attorney
Fix Your Tickets Blog
- Improper Turn Traffic Tickets in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Failing to Stop for a School Bus in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Carpool Lane Violations in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Illegal U-turn in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Reckless Driving Laws and Penalties in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Nevada’s “Hit & Run” Laws, Obligations, and Penalties
- Failing to Yield to Pedestrians at a Crosswalk Traffic Ticket in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Failure to Signal Traffic Violation Ticket Las Vegas, Nevada
- Running a Red Light in Las Vegas, Nevada
- DUI Fines and Penalties Las Vegas Nevada (1st, 2nd and 3rd Offenses)
- Driving without auto insurance in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Driving without registration in Las Vegas, Nevada
- How to get rid of a warrant in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Driving without a license in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Speeding Tickets in Las Vegas, Nevada
- Seatbelt Ticket Las Vegas, Nevada
- Nevada Demerit Point System
- Nevada’s Driving With Hand-held Cell Phone Use Laws