The charge of Reckless Driving can result in up to 8 points on your driving record coupled with a misdemeanor if there was no death or substantial physical harm caused by the incident. However, if your reckless driving results in substantial bodily harm to another person, whether physical injury or death, you could face stiffer penalties including felony charges in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Reckless driving laws can encompass any driving behavior that may be considered to be intentionally dangerous or done in wanton disregard for the safety of others. These charges can even be used as a plea or reduction for a DUI in some cases. Because the language of these laws can seem a little confusing, you might wish to consult with a skilled defense attorney who is experienced with Nevada reckless driving laws who may be able to help to reduce the potential penalties that you can face with a conviction.
Reckless Driving Laws and Penalties in Las Vegas, Nevada
Reckless Driving Penalties in Nevada
Whether you are in Las Vegas or another region in the state, you might find that reckless driving laws in Nevada can come with some pretty strict penalties if you have a conviction for this offense, whether as a misdemeanor or a felony. The difference between the laws for a misdemeanor offense and a felony reckless driving conviction boils down to if there was a death or substantial bodily harm to another as a result of your driving. Regardless of the classification, you can receive up to eight demerit points against your driver’s license in Las Vegas or other areas of Nevada.
If there was no death or physical injury that occurred as a result of your driving behavior, you will most likely face penalties associated with misdemeanor charges. This means that in addition to demerit points being issued against your driver’s license, you could face fines of up to $1,000 just for a first offense. This amount can go up to $1,500 for a second offense and $2,000 for a third or subsequent offense that is a result of a misdemeanor conviction. You may also have to spend up to six months in jail.
If your driving causes death or physical injury to another person, the laws in Nevada deem these types of offenses as a felony if the judge determines that the reckless driving had anything to do with the physical injury or death of another person. The Las Vegas laws regarding penalties are clear. In addition to demerit points issued against your driver’s license, you could have to pay fines of up to $5,000, and you may have to spend anywhere from one to six years in prison. However, if your reckless driving resulted in physical harm or death while you were evading a police officer, you may have to pay fines of up to $50,000 and prison time of up to 20 years. This is why it can be imperative to gain advice and assistance from a qualified Las Vegas, Nevada, defense attorney.
Additional Circumstances – Work Zones and Drag Racing
As with other traffic offenses, your fines and other penalties can be doubled if you are caught reckless driving in a designated work zone. Drag racing refers to having an unauthorized speeding contest on roadways in Las Vegas or other areas of the state of Nevada. If your reckless driving charge was due to drag racing, you could face additional penalties of a set number of hours of community service and a suspension of your driver’s license. You may also have your vehicle impounded.
Reckless Driving Defense
The ambiguous wording of reckless driving laws in Nevada leave the exact determination open to interpretation. For misdemeanor cases, the prosecution would have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you acted in a manner that fits the reckless driving laws. For felony offenses, a good defense lawyer may try to prove that you did not act in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others or that your driving was not the cause of another’s death or personal injury. Your defense attorney may even be able to have the prosecution or the judge reduce a felony charge to a misdemeanor.
DUI and Reckless Driving in Las Vegas, Nevada
Although reckless driving is a serious charge in the state of Nevada, a defense attorney will often use this charge as a plea conviction instead of having to face a charge for drunk driving or DUI. Even if you are able to get a conviction for reckless driving rather than that of DUI, you may still have to complete all of the penalties that are associated with the DUI or drunk driving. However, once you have completed your sentence and all other DUI requirements, you will not have to worry about a DUI on your record. If the judge agrees to reduce a drunk driving or DUI charge to reckless driving, you will not face the stricter penalties for subsequent charges if you are ever pulled over for DUI or drunk driving in the future. You would begin with the original charge since the initial DUI charge would have been pleaded down to reckless driving.
Common Moving Violations in Nevada
FREE Consultation for Traffic Tickets
Have you received a traffic citation while driving in Nevada? Our attorneys at Fix Your Tickets can help you get tickets reduced or even thrown out. For a FREE consultation contact Las Vegas Traffic Ticket Attorney Bennair Bateman at 702-605-0505. In many cases, we can get your traffic tickets reduced to a non-moving violation or dismissed with no need for traffic school, and zero demerit points on your driving record.
Need to speak with a Traffic Accident Attorney?
Have you suffered an injury because of a traffic accident in Nevada? If so, you may be owed damages. Contact our Las Vegas attorneys to discuss your ability to win compensation to pay for your lost earnings, loss of future wages, medical bills, and pain and suffering.
Fix Your Tickets
Las Vegas Attorney
- IMPROPER TURN TRAFFIC TICKETS
- FAILING TO STOP FOR A SCHOOL BUS
- CARPOOL LANE VIOLATIONS
- ILLEGAL U-TURN
- RECKLESS DRIVING
- HIT AND RUN ACCIDENTS
- FAILING TO YIELD TO PEDESTRIANS
- FAILURE TO SIGNAL
- RUNNING A RED LIGHT
- DUI DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
- DRIVING WITHOUT AUTO INSURANCE
- DRIVING WITHOUT REGISTRATION
- QUASH A WARRANT
- DRIVING WITHOUT A LICENSE
- SPEEDING TICKETS
- SEATBELT VIOLATION
- DEMERIT POINT SYSTEM
- DRIVING WHILE USING CELL PHONE